¡Yo soy Chicano! I am Chicano!

There are many labels for Hispanic cultures; Mexican (regardless of origins), Hispanics, Latino, Chicano, LatinX, and ChicanX are some of the more widely used identities. I identify as a Chicano, my parents are Mexico born, but US citizens and I was born on American soil. I am a Chicano Studies minor that is now known as LatinX Studies. LatinX is the new term that I hear a lot on campus and in the community. I do not identify as LatinX; I am Chicano. The “x” I believe is to be inclusive of feminine, masculine, and all genders. Spanish uses masculine and feminine tenses. When referring to a general or mix group, we use the male version. The use of these tenses is part of the Spanish language, and I feel it is how we should describe ourselves. The use of x in LatinX or ChicanX to me is trying to whiten the identity language. I am proud to be Chicano, of my culture, and my heritage language. I can respect what others identify as, but I will not change how I see my culture or identity.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started